The Guild

A post from guest Babbler Whitney Sanderlin

There are multiple reasons why you should watch “The Guild” and not the least of them is that it won’t take very long at all. Each webisode is about 3-8 minutes in length so the entire series will take you about 2 1/2 hours.  I think even the committment-phobes out there can handle a series that long.  For now, they are free/suggested donation online at their website The Guild or you can watch the first 3 seasons on Netflix.  The Guild website gives more availability info as well.

Ok, onward through the fog of words!  If you read my previous post, you know I’m a fan of Netflix, esp. InstaNetflix which allows me to not watch any commercials AT ALL be introduced to all the shows I didn’t watch when they were first on for free.  I didn’t think I wanted to watch “The Guild” initially but I had a brief stint with Evony and thought I might get some of the inside jokes (I got SOME of them). Also, as unusual as it seemed to me upon examination, the whole series (at the time) was less than 1.5 hours.  I was pleasantly surprised with the quality and I think you will be too.  The characters are people you know and most especially if you’ve ever been involved in the world of online gaming.  The Guild seems to be more like World of Warcraft than anything else but I believe the way guilds/groups/gangs work is pretty much a universal truth in life and in online gaming.  What impressed me about The Guild is the character development despite the fact that it has less than 10% of the screen play that normal-length shows contain.  I think this is largely based on the main character Codex’s (played by Felicia Day) honest communications about herself, the guild and her life.  The other characters are so honestly raw that it’s hard not to relate to some aspect of their lives or at least sympathize with those people who come in contact with these poor souls. 

The show has been on since 2007 though it’s only about 1/3 of the way through season 4 right now.  It’s strictly independent and was made, presumably by artists for artists.  The series is very well done and leaves you wanting more of Codex, Zaboo, Vork, Bladezzz, Clara and especially Tinkerballa.  (The more attitude the better!) 

Interestingly enough, The Guild was at ComicCon2010 and I think Tony missed them.  http://www.watchtheguild.com/the-guild/the-guild-at-comic-con-update/

Also, Wil Wheaton plays a charcter on The Guild and his character on the show makes me like him as a person more even though his character is – at times – a jerk. 

I give it 4 Babbles out of 5

1 Comment

Filed under Animated, Reviews

One response to “The Guild

  1. Julie

    I’ve heard about this show for a long time but just started watching it after I got back from Comic-con (when I became obsessed with all things related to comic-con). It was great to be able to watch the past seasons all at once and now that I’m caught up, 5 minutes a week doesn’t seem like enough! I don’t know anything about gaming but I think it is funny and I love all the characters, especially Clara, she’s so funny.

Leave a Reply

