Greetings Program! A Review of Tron

tron 3

Last Friday I watched a classic from my youth. It looks like going to Comic-Con got me all nostalgic and stuff over the movie Tron, so the Babblonians and I popped it in the DVD player and settled down for a night of remembrance. I have to admit, I was pretty nervous about it all. I loved this movie as a kid and I had not seen it in several years and I was afraid reality would ruin what stood out in my mind as being such a great film. I was very pleasantly surprised.

Let’s get one thing out of the way. The graphics are from 1982, so you will just have to deal with some of the corny effects and cheesy graphics but look at it as an educational experience.

The acting good, with a very young Jeff Bridges playing the main character Flynn and the dialogue is witty and clever. It also manages to make a plot that has a high level of technical jargon understandable to the average viewer. You do have to pay attention to keep up with the plot, but it is well done.

What strikes me the most is that over 25 years later, the story is still completely relevant. A mega software and computer company creates a program called the Master Control Program (MCP). The MCP is basically an AI that gets a big head and starts taking over other programs and working its way into Dept. of Defense and international computer systems. It begins controlling these programs and the ones it doesn’t like, it sends to the game floor to be killed, literally in an arcade game.

Enter the program Tron, created to watchdog the MCP. Tron, and the user Flynn, who gets discombobulated and turned into a program, battle against the MCP to destroy it. As one Babblonian, Scott North described it, think of it as a reverse version of The Matrix, whereas Neo exists in the Matrix and goes outside of it, Flynn exits outside of the MCP and goes into it. In the process he has to fight for survival in various gaming scenario while trying to find a way to shut down the MCP, but I won’t give you any spoilers here.

Tron was a landmark in Sci-fi movies and I think any person who is a fan of this genre needs to watch it. I would proudly give this movie, and I confess I’m adding a high nostalgia factor in here, but I would give it four babbles. Realistically it should get a 3.5 but I can’t help it, that’s what happens when you get old.

I can’t wait for Tron 2.0 though and whatever happens always remember, Flynn Lives!

Ratings4of5

2 Comments

Filed under DVD Faves, Reviews

2 responses to “Greetings Program! A Review of Tron

  1. Andrew

    I need to re-watch Tron. As I remember, didn’t it end weird, kind of all-of-a-sudden? I remember one minute they were in the computer and the next they were on top of a building, getting of a helicopter, congratulating each other.

    -banjo

  2. Jeff, great review – certainly brings back memories. I need to pick up the DVD and watch it again. Hopefully 2.0 lives up to the original.

Leave a Reply

