500 days of Summer Review

500days2

2 weeks ago, I decided to go with a friend to watch ‘500 days of Summer’ because of a few good reviews I had read and the fact that I LOVE Zooey Deschanel. The story follows the relationship of Tom (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) and Summer (Zooey Deschanel). Tagline: ‘Boy meets girl. Boy falls in love. Girl doesn’t.’ The story jumps back and forth during the 500 days of Tom’s relationship with Summer. In the end, the movie tries a little too hard to teach the audience a lesson about the unhappy side of love and how it’s important to move forward.

500days

This movie is good but falls short from being great. It was somewhat lacking in flow. I found myself bored at moments because the pacing of the story drags so much. Also, I surprising found parts of the film extremely ’emo’ for my tastes.

I really liked the overall presentation of this movie. It’s fresh, unique, and it isn’t your conventional love story. Also, ‘500 days of Summer’ has a strong soundtrack I think most will enjoy.

Throughout the movie, humorous dance numbers and dream sequences much like ‘Scrubs’ but less comical. It was an enjoyable movie to watch. I give this movie 3 out of 5 babbles.

Ratings3of5

2 Comments

Filed under Reviews

2 responses to “500 days of Summer Review

  1. Luke

    I thought it was possibly the best movie of the year (so far). I thought it was a great look at what falling in love is all about – its the kind of movie that will make you wiser.

  2. Edison

    I thought it was one of the best movies that I have seen so far this year. I think it’s our generation’s ‘Annie Hall.’

    I really enjoyed the “Perception vs. Reality” part of the film. It really connected to me since I kinda do the same thing as well. I’ve always had this perception of the perfect relationship, when in reality, I’m nowhere near it.

    The chemistry between Joe and Zooey is perfect. The soundtrack to the film is amazing. Plus, any film with a random musical number is a plus for me. Haa!

Leave a Reply

