adventureland review

adventureland

Yesterday, I decided to go out to purchase and watch ‘Adventureland’ because of a great review. Although I am happy to add this Dvd to my collection, it’s not necessarily a ‘Must Buy’ for me.

adventureland2

The movie takes place at an amusement park, following a post college kid (James Brennan) around as he has no other option than to work at a theme park to save for his trip to NYC as a Grad student at Columbia University. Adventureland you find the antics of those that run the ‘rides’ and ‘games’ he spends the summer with. Boy soon falls in love with girl (Kristen Stewart) and the relationship takes a huge turn. Nothing surprising about the story, it follows a very common formula pretty closely.

2009_adventureland_004

Filled with 80’s hits, drugs, alcohol, sex and you have a college frat boy movie. I enjoyed this movie. However, I felt it was lacking in humor and originality. I admit there were a few chuckles here and there, but after seeing ‘I love you, man’ – I was expecting more. I’d recommend seeing, ‘The Wackness’ starring Josh Peck, Olivia Thirlby, and Ben Kingsley before I’d recommend this one.

Ratings3of5 3 out of 5 babbles

Trailer attached below:

1 Comment

Filed under Reviews

One response to “adventureland review

  1. I liked the overall cool feeling of this movie, but nothing here really made me fall in love with this material. Still, I liked the setting of the 80′s and that soundtrack. Good review, check out mine when you can!

Leave a Reply

