Time Traveler’s Wife Review

The-Time-Travelers-Wife-eric-bana-2695337-1500-1000

For the last couple months, I’ve been trying very hard the finish Audrey Niffenegger’s book, ‘The Time Traveler’s Wife’ and the read is amazing. The story is incredibly complex, detailed, and well written.  I still have less than a quarter of the book left. I somehow got distracted with other things and haven’t picked it up for a while. Finally, I could not delay watching this movie any longer since finishing the book became such a chore among other activities. So I decided to go alone, on a weekday afternoon, to the dollar theater to finally watch it.

time_travelers_wife_ericbana_rachelmcadams-500x333-768021

Before the previews started to roll, I decided to scramble on my phone and check rotten tomatoes for their review on the movie so that I could manage my expectations. Especially, after hearing that many of my other friends did not like the story very much. It was at 37%, I was not surprised.

TheTimeTravelersWife

The movie lacked the complexity that made the book so good. Like many book adaptations, the screenwriters have to decide how much detail can be left out and still tell a compelling story. They don’t always satisfy everyone, which I completely understand. So let’s focus on the bad, the first two-thirds of the movie was TERRIBLE. I really wanted to like this movie. It fails in a lot of ways other movies do, it didn’t create characters we care about. I loved both ‘Clare Abshire’ and ‘Henry DeTamble’ written in the book, but somehow these just weren’t the same characters. The beginning was too rushed and their relationship with each other seemed to form instantaneously. A little too quickly to be realistic.

time_traveler_wife_full

The last third of the movie is where it really shines. Without going into any spoilers, I’ll just say that it becomes obvious where the director focused most of their time in telling this story. I loved the ending. It was emotionally driven and fulfilling, but did not save the movie for me. As always- read the book.

2 out of 5 babbles

Ratings2of5

1 Comment

Filed under Reviews

One response to “Time Traveler’s Wife Review

  1. You can constantly feel The Time Traveler’s Wife reaching for emotional depth, yet it never gets there. Even though Bana and McAdams try their hardest, they can’t lift this material off the ground well enough to have us totally convinced. Good review, check out mine when you can!

Leave a Reply

