The Road: A Review in Advance

This was an early screening of The Road. Release date: Nov 25th 

The_Road_1

What would you do if you had the opportunity to skip out of work early on a workday to go see an advance movie screening for free? I’m hoping you said, “see the movie”, because that’s what I did and I’m seeking your approval. The movie I played hooky to see is The Road, the latest adaptation from author Cormac McCarthy, whose previous movie adaptations include No Country for Old Men (2007) and All the Pretty Horses (2000). I hadn’t heard of The Road when I received the invitation to see it, so I checked out the latest trailer at theroad-movie.com. (See it here: The Road trailer)

This trailer offers a much fairer view of what the movie is about than do previous trailers (as seen on Youtube and Movies.com), which seem to portray a movie more about the cataclysmic event than the aftermath. My only critique of this trailer is that it also appears and sounds, thanks to the musical underscoring, a little too optimistic and hopeful.

The screening was hosted by a local pastor who introduced the movie as written by Cormac McCarthy, so (and here I paraphrase), “You know it’s going to be dark.” He didn’t lie or exaggerate. He offered a few things for us to look for to help offset the movie’s overwhelming, desolate nature: the relationship between the man and his son (whose names are never given) and the imagery involving water. Having something to look for gave me something positive and constructive to do while watching a film about what appears (from all trailers) to be the end of the world.

What would you do to protect a loved one in a hostile environment? To what lengths would you go to keep harm from coming to your only child? The Road tells the story of what one man would do to protect his son from the evil, perceived or real, that surrounds them as they travel south to the coast for winter. It is dark, depressing, and seemingly devoid of hope, depending on your interpretation of certain events, but it is ultimately about the fervent, powerful love the man has for his son.

I’ve deliberately tried to avoid revealing the details of The Road, but I want to say whatever I can about how I feel about it. I place this in my category “amazingly good, but hard to watch more than once.” It is not an easy movie to watch. It is not a popcorn movie. After certain scenes, I felt like someone had kicked me in the stomach. In necessary counterpoint, it made me smile at times, and when the tension grew too much, It made me laugh.  I don’t know if I can watch this movie again anytime soon, and I am not sure I can even recommend it to you. Even so, I give it 4.5 Babbles. If you do see it (on or after November 25th), I hope you’ll come back here and post your thoughts.

Ratings4.5of5

4.5/5 Babbles

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews, Upcoming

Leave a Reply

