If Your Life Were a Movie

So I was going to write a review of The Lovely Bones but I just couldn’t bring myself to do it. I did, however, have this bit of inspiration instead. The power of movies, and art as a whole, is our ability to connect to it as human beings. We all have our favorite films, directors that on some level we relate to.

And so Babblers ask yourselves this. If your life was a movie, who would direct it? Who would star in it?

Almost immediately I thought of my answer. Wes Anderson. If my life were a movie, it would definitely be a Wes Anderson flick. The dry, off beat, often dark but always quirky humor combined with an eccentric array of characters. I love his themes of bitter realities, broken dreams and things unrealized, yet somehow at the end of the day with the help of family and friends it has a peaceful ending.

So who would play me (I am not talking looks here.)? Tough question, I would prefer Will Smith, I think he could capture me well. Okay seriously, I know this is a bit odd but since it is Wes Anderson, I think Bill Murray could! I know he is twice my age but let’s face it, I am sort of an old man on the inside. I guess if you want somebody younger then maybe Jason Schwarzman? (Editors note: I have since changed my mind. I want John C. Reilly to play me.)  I would also have a killer soundtrack featuring Wilco, Josh Ritter, Neko Case and a ton of classic rock.

However now the real fun begins as I get to pick on my fellow Babblers. Here are my picks for them:

Tony Kim- Definitely directed by J.J. Abrams, besides the fact TK is obsessed with him, the crazy creative forces in J.J. Abrams mind seem to resonate with our fearless Babbler. Always pushing and challenging his creativity, sounds like TK to me. Sci-fi, mystery boxes, adventure and intrigue all mixed up with some raw human emotion also sounds like TK.  Who would play him? A young George Tekai? Just kidding, I will let you guys decide on this one.

Johnny Leou – Who exactly would direct the real Johnny Drama’s movie? Tough question. Somebody artistic and thoughtful with a dose of angst and a hero who keeps finding himself the center of weird situations and absurd drama, usually by his own design. My pick for director: Ang Lee. Just kidding, I think Sam Raimi would be a good choice for this one.  As for the actor, I am afraid I am going to have to go with Rob Patterson, seriously.

Scott North – Our most technically proficient Babbler would be directed by Stanley Kubrick. Think about it before you laugh. Thought provoking Sci-fi (2001 Space Odyssey ), off beat comedy (Dr. Strangelove – whom Scott DID critique) action (Spartacus) and random dark matters (The Shining and Clockwork Orange.) See what I mean? As for actor, this is the easiest: Brent Spiner.

Rick – I am sorry Rick, I don’t really know you that well. However, you do get the luxury of getting to pick out your own answers!

So dear Babblers I ask you this question: If your life was a movie, who would direct it and who would star in it? Let the discussions begin.

15 Comments

Filed under Fun

15 responses to “If Your Life Were a Movie

  1. Ron Jeremy would direct the movie about my life for sure!

  2. Scott

    I’m flattered and surprisingly OK with both your choice of director and actor.

  3. Amanda

    If I had a nickel for every time I’ve ever said ‘My life is a f**king Wes Anderson movie” I’d have approximately $3.65. However, if for some strange reason the biopic of my life was optioned I hope I could get Christopher Nolan to bring it to disjointed fruition, although he’s only my second choice to Akira Kurosawa.

    • While it is true Wes Anderson may be a little cliche, in my case I really feel it’s true. I guess I could have put Christopher Guess instead, maybe that would have been more original.

  4. I’d be played by Zac Efron

  5. Tony

    You nailed it Jeff- JJ Abrams would have to be my choice to direct my life, in fact I think he is already directing my life. I would choose John Cho (the new Sulu) to play myself!

    Great question. Overpeck, I am worried for you.

  6. tony should be played by the spanish teacher on community who was also the guy from hangover!

    ron jeremy may not be the most well respected guy on the planet but he shoots the same thing day in and day out and somehow keeps it interesting enough that folks keep buying it. i am just not all that interesting. i feel he could find a unique angle.

    as for zac efron, we just look and sing alike, so it seemed like a no brainer. especially since any movie about my life MUST be a musical (it will be in my contract!)

  7. My life was already turned into a movie: Boogie Nights.

    But if I had to make my movie over again, I’d say John Hughes for director and Anthony Michael Hall as the actor. It’s sad, but true.

    MJ

  8. also Jeff, M Night Shamalamadingdong should make a movie about you life and Haley Joel Osmond should totally play you. You guys look identical!

  9. Oh I have changed my mind anyways. I want John C. Reilly to play me. Boats and Ho’s!

  10. Johnny

    Rob Patterson or Robert Pattinson???

Leave a Reply

