R.I.P. M. Night Shyamalan

Wow, what  has happened to M. Night Shyamalan? What started as a career with such great promise has just plummeted to the ultimate depths of suck. I mean The Sixth Sense, Unbreakable and Signs were all great movies and now The Last Airbender tops Rotten Tomatoes at 9% just barely beating out Brendan Fraser in Fury Vengeance at 6%!  I mean that is low, as in kick-them-in-the-groin-when-they-are-already-down low. So Paramount apparently shelled out 250 million, or something outrageous like that, to make this colossal turd. Yet, I predict it will somehow make money. Kids will go see it and fans of the Japanese version will go see it as well. On top of all that, the massive toy and merchandising campaign will probably pull them out of the red. For shame, and what is an Airbender anyway? It sounds like the newest line of guitars from Fender.

I guess it shows you can only copy Alfred Hitchcock for so long.

3 Comments

Filed under Reviews

3 responses to “R.I.P. M. Night Shyamalan

  1. Casey

    Actually, the show its based on is American, its not Japanese. And it is way more original and thought-provoking and moving than this travesty of a film. For the original creator’s sake I implore anyone who thinks this movie version is all there is to the story to check out the original show.

    • Whoops, my bad. I should check my sources better, or just always use wikipedia instead. For the record I have heard the original is incredibly well done and it is a shame that so many bad movies will probably turn people off of some really good stuff. Thanks for reading!

  2. dude any treatment of airbender that leaves out the asian protesters is a travesty, neigh a HATE CRIME!!!

Leave a Reply

