Dexter-Con!

So over the last few months your fellow Babblers Johnny and I have become huge fans of the show Dexter on Showtime. Since then we have been bleeding our eyes out watching the last three seasons trying to catch up with the current state of affairs.

Recently it has been announced that Dexter will have a panel at Comic-Con this year and that means yours truly is going to be there with my press pass and questions ready! My goal at Comic-Con this year? Meet the cast of Dexter and get a Babbleon5 shout out. I don’t recall them ever having panels in the past, although in their defense I wasn’t a fan at the time so I may not have noticed. (Although it seems like it would stand out since I had heard of it.)

I have written a bit about this before, but for those of you who are not familiar with this show, it has arguably become my favorite show on TV. The plot follows Dexter Morgan, a blood splatter and forensics expert for the Miami Metro Police Department. Oh, one more thing, he is a serial killer as well. Despite all that he is a pretty good guy and only kills people who have gotten away with murder. This is a code his father, a former Miami police officer, instilled deep within him. (Yeah his Dad was in on this, it’s a dark show.) Additionally he has to maintain his marriage and raise and support his family, all the while keeping his dirty secret.

This show is dark but brilliant. The writing is amazing, the characters compelling, the acting is awesome and the premise is one of the most original I have ever seen. In fact, Michael C. Hall, who plays Dexter, recently won a Golden Globe for his performance. One of the things I love the most is that each of his kills somehow teaches him about living life, it is genius interplay. You can tell the writers have a lot of fun adding in dark humor and playing upon the ironies that one would expect in the daily life of a serial killer turned forensics expert turned family man.

Killer and Nerd?

I will warn you, it is violent, has some nudity and quite a bit of language. (Most of the latter is accounted for by his in show sister.) So if you are easily offended or if blood bothers you, this probably isn’t the show for you. Still in an era of absurd and mindless reality TV and multiple CSI crime show spin offs, this show is very badly needed breath of fresh air and originality.

I will probably go ahead and officially make Michael C. Hall my man crush. That’s right you heard it here first folks. Seriously, where has this show been all my life? On a more personal note, I also really appreciate the fact that while Dexter has a “normal” life, he has this darkness he must always struggle with, as if there are two Dexter’s. It is something that in some ways I feel I can relate to with my own struggles with depression.

So all of this goes to ask this question: Assuming I get the chance, what questions should I ask the cast on behalf of BabbleOn 5?

When can we expect Dexter: The musical? Or Dexter on Ice?

Do you ever worry about the creepy nature of some of your fans?

In real life Michael C. Hall is married to the girl who plays his sister on the show, do the two of them ever get jealous during sex scenes?

Let me know your questions Babblers! I am dying to ask!

3 Comments

Filed under Reviews

3 responses to “Dexter-Con!

  1. Beeker

    I hate you, Roger!

    I, too, love Dexter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

