A review of Scott Pilgrim vs The World

A review from guest Babbler Bear Cahill:

*Spoiler free*
Maybe I’m just excited about this movie because I saw it last night, but I. loved. this. movie.

The acting, the writing, the dialogue, the story, the style – all big wins. I’m certainly unworthy to write much about this film as a) I didn’t read the comics and b) it’s just that good of a film. Despite that…

It’s comic book origins are evident in the style of the film which really cements the reality of the world which is versus’ing Scott Pilgrim. The mixing of ‘this generations’ hereditary slacker base, comedic style (a la Michael Cera) and comic presentation are flawlessly combined into a stream-of-consciousness like storytelling. It hardly stops for a breath and engaged me so well that I didn’t want the ride to end.

Director Edgar Wright’s past work, particularly with Simon Pegg (“Hot Fuzz”, “Shaun of the Dead”, “Spaced”), is evident, for example, in the various devices he uses to convey time and/or distance passing (or somehow lack of it). The pop culture references and throwbacks to video games blends seamlessly with the acting and worldviews of the characters.

I’m not as familiar with fellow screenwriter Michael Bacall’s work, but this is a good intro into it for me.

“Scott Pilgrim vs. the World” is a fun, witty, well made rom-dram-edy with a hint of fantasy a twist of coming-of-age, a dash of garage band and a heaping helping of awesome. The love story is strong – particularly because it’s the ageless and endless “everyman” trying to capture the heart of his (literal) dream girl. Scott litrally (yes, this movie is worthy of misspelling) fights for his girl – not for her heart so much as for his life – with the “League of X’s” – seven evil X’s to be specific.

I had high expectations for this film for the writing, acting, dialogue and story. However, it was the storytelling style and various visual devices used that blew me away. The way they displayed various events/actions communicated more than just what happened. They used even small actions to enhance the story, the reality and the overall tone and create an experience from the film more than just tell a story.

Also, I think they should be proud of not only doing all of the above, but not resting on it to carry the film. Each X Scott has to fight displays a whole new facet of this gem. From twin super powers to vegan mystical abilities (and hair) and the way through to the end (which I won’t spoil here), I have to believe they did an incredible job bringing the various comic volumes to life – all distinct but all together.

I feel confident in saying “Scott Pilgrim vs. the World” is a great movie. It does so many things well and doesn’t do really anything badly (Culkin’s character was a bit of a drain, but it didn’t bleed into too much of the movie). And I can say it’s certainly my favorite movie so far this year (even though I really like “Inception” which may have more re-watch value – too early to say).

That being said, I’m confident that if you think you’ll like this movie, you will. From whatever you’ve seen and heard, if it appeals to you, it’s fulfilled well enough to satisfy you.

I give it 5 out of 5 Babbles

Thanks Bear for your review! iPhone lovers, check out Bear’s iPhone App site at Brain Wash Inc.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

