Dinner with the Schmucks

Another review from guest Babbler Bear Cahill:

I saw “Dinner for Schmucks” last night. It was ok which met my expectations.

I like Steve Carell and Paul Rudd so I knew it was be at least ok. Zach Galifianakis was a nice addition in a smaller role. And Jemaine Clement (Flight of the Conchords) stole every scene he was in – good stuff there.

The humor was in line with what you’d expect from these guys, but not as fresh, random or powerful as usual. I’m not sure what missed, but my guess is it’s a combination of “been done” and “not enough.”

A big surprise was the performance by Lucy Punch (“Hot Fuzz”) whose performance transcended her role… if I might be so bold. She was only in a couple of scenes, but she played them so well. Nothing like Jack Nicholson or anything, but proved there are no small roles.

Overall it was pretty funny, mostly entertaining and not a bad movie. In a world of blockbuster-only movies, something like this is usually passed by. W/ our busy schedule, that’s usually the case for us. But if you want to see a movie that’s worth watching, you could do worse…. sure it’s not high praise, but that’s that. Maybe a good rental at some point.

I give this a 2.5 out of 5 Babbles

Thanks Bear!

1 Comment

Filed under Reviews

One response to “Dinner with the Schmucks

  1. Cool dude! Thanks for the input. I will save my hard earned Babble Bucks and see something else. Or wait until the dollar. I heard the original was better.

Leave a Reply

