Review of the PS3

Here at BabbleOn we don’t do a lot of video game related reviews but we do babble about it on occasion. Believing that video games are a an essential part of any growing boy’s (and some girl’s) diet, we wanted to share our thoughts on the pop culture phenom known as the PS3.

Big thanks to Bear for this great review:
 

My Specs:
Electronics today can do WAY too many things. When we were having our first baby I asked a friend (one that really knows his stuff) which video camera I should get. He immediately told me about one that did “everything.” It sounded great, but I knew from (growing) experience that a camera that does everything usually costs more and I’m probably only going to use the basic features so I’m paying extra for nothing.

Instead I decided to get a camera that did what I wanted well. Actually, I got a digital still camera that took video, had a large LCD display, long battery life and took pictures quickly after being turned on (I tested that in the store). It also shot video – all-in-one, fairly good price, video out for slide-shows on TV – done.

So that’s how I try to make a lot of my purchases these days – what will I really use, what’s really important to me and what is the cost? The extra features cost extra money, take extra time and probably won’t be used. This all means I’m buying not on the specs of the device, but the specs of me.

It’s like buying a car – we don’t all get the same car b/c “it’s the best.” We get the best car for us with some degree of preference in there: looks, color, style, power, etc.

What I Wanted:

So when I wanted to get a blu-ray player I wanted one that had:
– good upconvert for DVDs
– good blu-ray player
– built-in wifi
– software updates via wifi
– played Netflix
– various other options like webbrowser, other video playing, pics, music, connect to other computers, etc.

I did what I tend to do these days when I wanted suggestions: research. Wait, no, not research – I posted the question on Facebook. Why do the research that dozens of people I know have already done.

I got the suggestion of PS3 from 3 different people and no other devices were mentioned. I read about it a little, but pretty quickly decided that was the best option and looked around for a good deal. When I found one, I bought it.

Review:

So here’s my thoughts on the PS3 from a personal perspective as opposed to a technical one. I like it. How’s that?

It has a good interface, plays DVDs/blu-rays great and has all other other features I wanted. It connects easily to my other computers to play music and show pics. Plays Netflix well (and w/o the need of a disc in the next couple of months though the disc isn’t bad). And since it has a webbrowser I can hit other sites like Pandora for music. I have hulu+ but you have to get the PS3 online subscription for that which I haven’t done. Once hulu+ is released to the public, I don’t think you’ll need the PS3 subscription.

I hear it plays games too, but I haven’t done that yet.

The blu-ray remote is bluetooth which is cool so you can use it from wherever w/o line-of-sight, but you can’t program that into (most) universal remotes. I plugged in an old USB keyboard for the web browser and it worked immediately.

So it’s a great device – like having a computer hooked up to your TV in a lot of ways… but not drivers, updates, Windows, etc. to worry about… and it boots faster.

I wish it had more players like hulu, Amazon video, etc. and played videos from the other computers in the house (I think it does, but I haven’t got mine in the right formats so…). So it’s not perfect and I won’t say it’s cheap, but it’s probably the best solution w/ the least work that I know of.

I give it a 4.5 Babbles out of 5

Leave a comment

Filed under Fun, Reviews

Leave a Reply

