Due Date


In honor of all of our readers who are traveling right now, I’m going to review “Due Date.” I hope even your TSA experience wasn’t as bad as the experience of the characters in this movie.
I was pretty excited about this movie b/c it’s been a while since I’ve seen good, silly comedy.
Unfortunately, it didn’t quite do it for me.
It was humorous and there were a few big laughs, but ultimately it just didn’t come together. Zach Galifianakis has an odd sense of humor that I enjoy in stand up, skits and some movies, but I’m not 100% sure it was best in the tone of this movie. The mixture of basic “funny” and extreme awkwardness didn’t play well in the longer format, imo.
Robert Downery Jr. was great as the straight man trying to get home for his first child’s birth. He was so good that for the first third of the movie I was as annoyed as I was entertained. I’m very goal oriented.

After the initial frustration w/ how badly things go for Downey’s character, the movie settles into a good groove. It got wilder in some senses and funnier too. Of course, you know where movie going from the trailer: odd-couple travels across country in a comedy of mishaps that lead to the acceptance of the oddball who is as lovable as he is pitiful. Oops, did I give it away?
It’s a decent movie and good for a few (uncomfortable at times) laughs. If you like Zach Galifianakis you know how uncomfortable it can get – now add that it’s an R-rated movie.

I gave it 3 Babbles

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

