A Yule Time Babble- My favorite Christmas Film

So it’s that time of year again, when love, joy, peace, and Santa, among other things, are in the air. Which means, we have a whole new genre of movies to discuss. I’m not talking Festivus here folks, it’s Christmas time again, which begs the question, what is your favorite Christmas movie?

I started thinking about this, because there are a lot of classics, so it’s a tough call. Who doesn’t love James Stewart in It’s a Wonderful Life? Or the innocent charms of young Natalie Wood in Miracle on 34th Street?

Still I lean towards the more recent ones, which leads me to this question. Does Die Hard count as a Christmas movie? It takes place at Christmas, so it counts in my book.

I also lean more towards the comedies. I love A Christmas Story and Ralphie Parkers quest for a red rider BB gun. Of course who could forget the crazy antics of the Griswold’s in National Lampoons Christmas Vacation? Or the animated greats of A Charlie Brown Christmas or the Grinch Who Stole Christmas? How about a modern classic like Elf? (Is there such thing as a modern classic?)

All of that being said, my favorite Christmas story, besides the birth of Christ of course, is that of a Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol. This story is profound, iconic, brilliantly creative and has withstood the test of time. There is no telling how many versions of this film there are floating around in the world. I can think of ten or so off the top of my head.

So that being said, if I lean towards comedy and A Christmas Carol is my favorite Christmas story, that really leaves one option for my favorite holiday film.

Yes, ladies and gentlemen, I proudly present to you, A Muppet Christmas Carol!

Kermit, Gonzo, Miss Piggy, Ralph, Fozzie Bear, Statler and Waldorf, the list goes on and on of lovable characters. Maybe there is some nostalgia here, since the Muppets were one of my favorite shows as a kid and they instilled my love of late night TV talk shows, but you can’t deny their place in history. They were way ahead of their time, combining childlike fun with celebrities and witty lines that adults could enjoy as well.

I have to admit, I even like the songs in this movie, which isn’t always the case with musicals. Oh and let’s not forget the icing on top, this movie also stars the great Michael Caine. So here’s to you mad Muppets, the playful puppets of my youth, we wish you well. And to all you Babblers out there, Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!

Oh, and God bless us all, everyone!

 

I give it 4 Babbles.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

