The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader


Having read the books, this was one of my favorites. I love the characters, especially Reepicheep. Unfortunately, these can’t be fully captured in a movie time-span. I’d say they did about as good of a job as you can do – as they have with the other movies as well.

However, there’s something missing. I can’t put my finger on it, but it feels somehow shallow. Maybe because it needs to be somewhat kid-friendly (no blood in sword/axe battles) or maybe because of the condensed format. Maybe it’s the age-old problem of book-to-screen adaptation. Not sure.
The books feel patient. The story’s steep in Narnia reality. The movies don’t feel rushed, but that tone is mostly lost.

Will Poulter was spot on as Eustace – super annoying. The highlight of the book, to me, was Aslan and Eustace as a dragon. The movie treatment of that was good, but probably could not capture my imagination of the scene. Again, tough to adapt something describing pain like that.

Overall, this is a good movie and so far my favorite. They did many things right and while I want to judge it on it’s own merits, I can’t help but have expectations from the book (and my imagination). Since I feel I’ve beaten that horse sufficiently, I want to make sure to point out that the movie is really good. While the acting, effects, pace, etc. are all right on, it only suffers from the limitations of the medium. I’d be curious to hear from someone who hadn’t read the books.

I give it 3.5 Babbles

3 Comments

Filed under Reviews

3 responses to “The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader

  1. Julie

    I too have read the book a lot, so it was really hard for me to separate this movie from my expectations. To me it was okay, but I might need to give it another chance. btw, did it bother anyone else that Caspian had a completely different accent in this movie?

  2. Jeffra

    I have not yet seen. I am having a very difficult time with these movie adaptions. It is like they are trying to hard to be something they are not: a cross between Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings. I loved the old BBC series but that only made it to the 4th book. I wonder if these will make it further?

  3. Subi

    Caspian having a straight Englishy accent instead of his pseudo-Spanich accent distracted me the entire movie. I could go into a Dennis Miller-esque tirade about the laziness of that oversight. But I digress.

    The biggest problems I had with the film was that it seemed to be a collection of con-joined events instead a cohesive story and the fact that I didn’t care about Caspians’ 7 lost Lords or the inhabitants of that island where people were being sacrificed to the mist. The little girl that stowed away on the Dawn Treader to be with her father, who had left to rescue his wife was a quarter-hearted attempt to get me to care about the people in peril, which for me, failed.

    I suppose it’s not a terrible movie, considering that there are worse things out there. My kids enjoyed it, so I won’t complain too much. As a moviephile, however, I was disappointed.

Leave a Reply

