What geeky guys need to know about geeky girls…

We are pleased to announce a new epic partnership in nerdom. Not since the formation of the Justice League of America has there been a more potent combination of the good, the bad, and the geeky. The boys of BabbleOn 5 are excited to partner with the Girls Are Geeks to babble about all things nerdy. Here they are to introduce our first topic…   

5 Things Geeky Guys Should Know About Geeky Girls

We are Rosalind, Dawn, and Gardella, and we are the girls over at Girls Are Geeks! We’re very excited to be hanging out with the guys here at BabbleOn 5 for a while to do some geek exchanges with a gender-interest slant. To get started, we thought it would be a good idea to help define Geek Girls and Geek Guys for each other. This is our Top Five things that Geek Guys should know about Geek Girls.

1. Geeky girls are still girls. Sure, we often like playing video games in sweats and a Penny Arcade t-shirt, that doesn’t mean we might not want to get dressed up and go out sometimes. Many of us also like girly things, with geeky twists. For example, feel free to buy a geek girl jewelry, but consider that a geek girl might not be too impressed with a heart necklace, unless it’s a Tetris heart.

2. But Geeky girls are still geeks. We are not just hanging out with geeks or doing things because our geek husband or boyfriend asked us too. We have our own geeky interests, and we are serious about them. We also tend to obsess over things that might not be classically geeky, such as cooking and Disney, but don’t doubt that geek girls are just as into gaming, scifi, and technology too!

3. Geeky girls are smart, especially about our geekdoms. We know our stuff as well as geek guys do, and we have no problem correcting your inaccurate quoting of Firefly or Doctor Who. You can’t bull#$%* a geek girl, so the best way to keep one on your side is to be honest and don’t act like you know more than you do!

4. Geeky girls are competitive, and we will kick your @**. We don’t mind correcting geek guys and we don’t mind destroying geek guys over Xbox Live, or in Munchkin, Tetris, or any other game that we play. However, letting a geek girl win is a sure way to piss her off, so play good and play fair, just be prepared to get the same thing in return!

5. Geeky girls are not stereotypes, nor can we really be generalized. The best thing to remember about any geek girl is to learn about her as a person. We can be scifi geeks, gaming geeks, science geeks, tech geeks, or any number of other geeks. Don’t make assumptions about geek girls and our interests: just because she loves Babylon 5, doesn’t mean that she has also memorized every episode of Battlestar Galactica.

Hopefully that helps you get to know what to expect from us geeky girls! We are excited to be working with the geek guys of BabbleOn 5. See you around!

Special thanks to the Girls Are Geeks and be sure to check out their website. We are looking forward to some nerdy interaction with ya’ll. B5 will be posting our own ‘what geeky girls need to know about geeky guys’ soon. Please comment and add anything that might help us geeky guys. Babble on!

20 Comments

Filed under Fun, Learnings

20 responses to “What geeky guys need to know about geeky girls…

  1. Respect the girl! Great points about competitiveness and stereotypes.

    I love it when my wife pwns me at Mario Kart or something I’ve always prided myself on. It makes me proud all the more.

  2. I started hanging out with geeks because my hubby is a geek and we go to comic cons to sell his book. And then I realized that I strongly identify with the weirdness that is a geek because I am a geek. I feel very comfortable around people that are “into” elves, monsters, hobbits, computers, etc. not only because those subjects interest me but because the “other worlds” and the intelligence needed to create and maintain them are fascinating to me. I love that a geek can get so into a subject area and know it so well that they can come up with an authentic costume that depicts that subject area in a clever and/or accurate way. I’m a girl geek and proud of it!

  3. Tony

    Yes, this is definitely the era of the geek girl. It’s a new hybrid of smart, real, sexy, tech savy, and pop cultural enthusiast. Girls who are not afraid to break the mold and to forge new paths. I also think the geek girl is redefining beauty and feminitiy creating a new realistic standand by which all is measured. Thanks to those who are geeky girls, helping to lead the way to a new generation!

  4. Pingback: What geeky guys need to know about geeky girls… « BabbleOn 5 Movie … :: FreakyGeeky.com

  5. Julie

    Hooray for geek girls!

  6. Hey Geek girls, nice post. For the record, I hate it when any geek girl beats me at a game. Actually I have it when anybody beats me in a game….especially Tony Kim. Sounds like a challenge BTW!

  7. Jeffra

    Love it! – from a geek girl.

  8. taiki

    Geek men are not this stupid.

    We know this.

    Unless I’m overly optimistic.

    • Tony

      Ok that’s fair. Do you have any suggestions on what geeky guys should know about. Geeky girls? Interested to hear your thoughts.

    • Believe, I would never think that a geek guy was stupid, in any sense. Heck, I married one. Sometimes though, we as geek girls do feel like there are things that get forgotten or brushed aside. Even my husband sometimes forgets that I play games no holds barred, and he doesn’t always like it, or he forgets that I’m going to dress up a bit for PAX because I’m out in public (we had an issue over a decorative D20 scarf). Women are still subjected to many stereotypes in our daily lives, getting these things out there either as a reminder or as a vote of confidence that everything you always thought about geek girls is true is something I still think is worth doing once in a while. If you haven’t swung by our blog to see the geek guys version of the same, I would invite you to go ahead and do that!

      Rosalind
      Girls Are Geeks

    • Geek aren’t stupid it’s true, and we appreciate the vote off support, however, let’s face it, when it comes to women, most guys are pretty stupid….

    • Antikythera

      All of them? 😛 I know that some of them are smart and know that stuff. I married one. But I also once dated one who got all this stuff wrong, and refused to date lots more of them…

      Look, when a member of a commonly offended/oppressed/abused/insulted group says “this is how I want to be treated”, don’t take it as an insult if you are already on their side. Listen and acknowledge, that’s the respectable and respectful thing to do. If you object to their saying it, they’re going to wonder why you have such a problem with that.

  9. Pingback: 5 Things Geek Girls Should Know About Geek Guys « Girls Are Geeks

  10. unfortunatley the only thing my wife is geeky about is Korean Dramas.

    • Tony

      Ha ha, well you gotta start somewhere. There are some serious Kdrama geeks out there too. Thanks for visiting and commenting!

  11. Hatty

    Hah! I love this article. It holds much truth. I’m not girly at all but admittedly a tetris necklace would be awesome!
    On point number 3 – two of my exes were such bullsh*tters; they always tried to worm their way out of things by being complimentary and evasive, avoiding telling the actual truth, no matter how hard I sought it. I hated it, and I saw right through it. Although tact can be good, being honest (and not patronising!) is also necessary, at least for someone like me.
    Point number 4 I’d like to be able to say is completely untrue, and partially it is… I really am not very competitive, when it comes to sports… but when it comes to videogames I can’t help myself! Especially on stuff like Super Smash Bros and Mario Kart. Plus, this point is also correct in that earning ones kick-assery by beating them fair and square is much more satisfying than if they just hand it to you (:

Leave a Reply

