Black Swan Reviewed

Nina is a featured dancer in the New York City Ballet who finds herself locked in a web of competitive intrigue with a new rival at the company .” – Yahoo Movies

After hearing about this movie so much in the course of a week, I had to force myself to make time to go and see it. As a psychological thriller, it definitely worked the artistic side of my brain as I processed and interpreted the story.

First off, Natalie Portman does some serious work in this film. Brilliant performances- both in her ability as an actor and dancer. Black Swan reminds me of the level of talent she is capable of and washes away ‘most’ of the bad taste left from her role in the Star Wars prequel movies. It is my opinion that she will win Best Actress. I’m sure.

It wasn’t until this past year or two that I actually watched a Darren Aronofsky film (The Wrestler and Requiem for a Dream). I can tell you, neither are very happy films. Black Swan was dark and chilling and Aronofsky’s directing style is very apparent in this film. I really enjoy dark films and loved ‘Black Swan’. It’s not for the faint of heart (although, my friend’s mother joined us and loved it) because of some intense and graphic scenes throughout the film that will definitely mess you up.

I’d highly recommend ‘Black Swan’ if you are a fan of this genre. This isn’t a dance movie- it deals with elements of jealously, betrayal, inadequacies, paranoia and transformation. Go and see it!

1 Comment

Filed under Reviews

One response to “Black Swan Reviewed

  1. Jeffra

    I have a male friend who says this is one of the best films he has ever seen but he does not want it publicly known since it is appears as a “ballet” film.

Leave a Reply

