Smallville with a big ending

You blink and suddenly it’s 10 years and 10 seasons later for one of WB’s longest running series Smallville. As a life-long Superman geek, the conclusion of this show is a momentous occasion for fans everywhere. However, I have not been a fan of the show over the years. I started pretty faithfully for the first couple of seasons but the ‘freak of the week’ formula turned me off and tuned me out (along with a lot of others). I did still drop back in for special episodes like the introduction of Flash, Hawkman, Aquaman, the Justice League, and epic appearance of the late Christopher Reeves. To me, the show got overly ambitious by ‘shoe-horning’ in every DC character and story arc from the Superman mythology and after a while, I just fell too far behind to care. But when the conclusion of the series was announced, I had to ‘fan up’ and join back into the journey to see how this would all end (and Superman would begin). 

Returning back into Season 10 was not as traumatic as I thought it would be. I kept up enough to know of the major new happenings like the exit of Chloe, Lex, Lana, Lionel, the new romance with Lois, and the new environment of Metropolis. A LOT is happening right now to wrap up all the loose ends. Clark, known as ‘The Blur’ to the rest of the world, is on the verge of revealing himself as a public hero. There is a witch-hunt for heroes making it illegal for vigilantes to operate- it’s very similar to Marvel’s Mutant Registration Act or the ‘Legends’ mini-series from the DC universe. A particularly emotional moment was when fans of The Blur posted their gratitude for their unseen hero. This was the pivotal turning point for Clark with his decision to come out of hiding. Clark and Lois are newly engaged so wedding plans are in full swing while fending off Darkseid and his minions. What I am finding really enjoyable and what sets this apart from old Smallville is that it feels more grand set in Metropolis. No longer are the claustrophobic storylines contained to the a small town but it finally gets the scope it deserves. The solid chemistry between our super love birds is reminiscent of another great old show, Lois and Clark. The focus right now is the how Clark evolves into his ‘mild-manner’ persona and his reasons not to be a masked hero. In this past episode, he dons the glasses for the first time and has his first humbling and bumbling Clark Kent moment. I have to admit, I was smiling all the way through. All in all, this is geek heaven for Man of Steel and DC universe fans. At this past San Diego Comic Con, Smallville fanatics were treated to a glimpse of the suit (probably passed down from Superman Returns) which was a magical moment.

No doubt that geeks, fans, and nerds from all over will tune into the epic finale of Smallville. It’s not too late to get acclimated- I am certainly glad I did. I am looking forward to believing again that a man can fly.

Long time fans, let me hear what you think and how this season compares to the past. While my rating for Smallville has gone up and down over the years, I give this current season 10 a 4 Babbles out of 5. Check it out!

3 Comments

Filed under Reviews, TV Show

3 responses to “Smallville with a big ending

  1. Erika

    I agree completely, I just wish they’d gotten to this point with the characters and storyline sooner. I’m glad Clark *finally* gets to have a bit of confidence and be *the* hero instead of watching those around him do it.

  2. Julie

    I’m so behind this season! I pretty much only watch it because I’m committed to seeing it thru to the end.

  3. Jeffra

    I admit to being a long-time fan. Although my attendance has not been regular (I usually miss about 3-5 episodes per season at least), I keep on watching. Unfortunately, I do not have cable, so trying to find the episodes to watch online has been a pain.

    There was a great episode this season where Clark traveled to the future with the aid of Brainiac 5, and was able to meet his future self. It was delightful. It has also been nice not to have to see him do the lying and hiding thing from Lois that got so old with Lana (here I admit to never being a Lana fan).

    I’m not a big fan of the Oliver and Chloe storyline, but I suppose this is because I’m a Oliver/Dinah fan. (okay, can you tell yet that a girl is writing this post? 😉

    Onto the big bads. Yes, over the years, it has felt like they have been trying to throw in all of the Superman villians that they could dig out of the archives (Mr. Mxyzptlk, Bizarro, Doomsday, Metallo, clone of General Zod, etc.). But what else are you gonna do when your show goes on for ten years??? (I do sort of wish they had actually been to college and graduated, ah well. – And this would have given them a great opportunity to have had an episode about Clark’s mermaid love, Lori Lemaris).

    So there have been a lot of pitfalls in the episode storylines over the years and the editing (IMHO) has been terrible, but I’m just a diehard Superman fan, and ultimately, I have never felt that they dishonored the tradition and the heart of the Superman Legend. So I’ve kept watching. Yes, I am SUPER looking forward to him donning the cape and suit!

Leave a Reply

