When your network sucks…

So here is something ironic I have noticed lately. Out of the big four non-cable networks (ABC, CBS, NBC and FOX) the one with the worst ratings is NBC. They also happen to have my favorite shows. Of course, I am leaving out cable because, Dexter, Game of Thrones and Breaking Bad rock, but for network, primetime, I love NBC.

They have The Office, 30 Rock, Chuck and now Community. Granted, we will see how The Office does without Steve Carrel,  Chuck is now over and 30 Rock has lost a little luster, but overall these shows have been great the last few years. Community is hands down my favorite (I have a crush on Annie. )Heck, I still watch SNL, even though it is so-so, and Parks and Recreation has its moments too. Yet, despite all of this, their ratings are the worst, so this can only lead me to one of two conclusions.

Either, my tastes are awesome, or my tastes totally suck. I am going to error on the side of awesome. Here is my thinking. It is widely known among creative types that what is creative and well done does not always appeal to the general masses.  Take Arrested Development for example. A genius show, it has won numerous awards and I loved it, yet after three seasons FOX canceled it. Now you can say what you want about FOX and their sorry marketing (Firefly) but the other problem was that Arrested Development was just too original, off beat and quirky for main stream America.  The same for the Judd Apatow, Seth Rogen cult hit series Freaks and Geeks.  A great show that came on in 1999-2000 it didn’t last long. It was just a little too ahead of its time and a little too off beat for mainstream. Since then it has gained a lot of attention and if it was on now, it would probably be a hit.

Now I know I probably sound like an elitist snob and I don’t mean to be. It is more of the fact that I appreciate the irony of my favorite network having the worst ratings. Incidentally, this blog has come about from numerous debates with fellow Babbler Johnny and a few other friends about NBC shows versus CBS (How I Met Your Mother, Big Bang Theory specifically) who happen to have the best ratings right now.  Big Bang is funny, but I don’t love it. How I Met is hit and miss to me, but I know these shows are huge. (Don’t forget all their other hits, Two and A Half Men, all the CSI, NCIS, Criminal Minds types, Grey’s Anatomy and Letterman.)

The other option, of course, is that my tastes just plain suck.  This is a possibility, but it is one that I am not in a position to diagnose since they are my taste and being objective is not really my specialty.  So Babblers, let me know your thoughts on this. Art is subjective anyway, but some art is definably better than others.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

