I Liked The Hobbit And I Am Not Ashamed Of It

hobbitAlright, I have been meaning to write this for a while since most critics (including one Babbler) hated The Hobbit. Look, I know it reeks of Hollywood milking a franchise to stretch it into three movies to make money (and I do hate that). I know there was too much CGI.  I know the Goblin King looked like a boil that was about to burst. I know the rock giants fighting had no place in the movie and I know the dwarves fell down a ridiculous amount of stuff, and yet after all of that, I still liked it.

To me it was just fun. Maybe it is because I am such a fan of Tolkien that anything involving his works I will watch. Maybe it is because as a kid I was dying for LoTR/Hobbit movies and now I finally got them and maybe it was just because it made me feel like a kid again. I will say they did a brilliant job with the Riddles in the Dark sequence between Bible and Gollum. So as a whole I liked it and thought it was fun and maybe sometimes that is all a movie needs to be. Then again I am not approaching this as a critic.

I don’t like that the sequel is called The Decimation of Smaug. Smaug and the ensuing battle should more or less be the last movie. I have no idea what they will do with movie three other than the rise of the Witch King, which was not in the books. Will it be good as part one or more contrived who knows? But for now, I liked the first part.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

